Lerwick Port Authority

+44 (0) 1595 692991

  • Home
  • News
  • Appointment of Board Members to Lerwick Port Authority

Appointment of Board Members to Lerwick Port Authority

4th June 2012

Three Members have been appointed to the Board of Lerwick Port Authority from the Shipowners sector. 

Two existing Members, George William Anderson and Bobby Polson applied to serve a further term and are joined by local whitefish skipper, James Anderson. Their applications have been approved under the procedures put down by Government guidelines and the Authority’s own legislation. Each will serve a three-year term until July 2015.

Retiring from the Authority is Davie Hutchison who has stood down after many years service as a Board Member.

Lerwick Port Authority is a Trust Port which follows UK Government guidelines for Board membership. These guidelines define Board Members’ responsibilities on their appointment as Trustees of the port.

Chairman of Lerwick Port Authority, Harry Jamieson said that “the two returning applicants are valued continuing Members and I am delighted to welcome James Anderson to the Board.”  

View all news stories