Ronnie Gair has been returned as Chairman of Lerwick Port Authority for another twelve-month period at the Authority’s AGM today, Tuesday 17 July. John Henderson has also been returned as Deputy Chairman for the same term.

Earlier this month, three Board Members were appointed to the board of the Authority following recruitment of applicants from the Shipowners sector. The three existing Shipowner Members were the only applicants for the three positions. Bobby Polson, George William Anderson and James Anderson all applied to serve a further three year term until July 2021.

Port Authority Chairman, Ronnie Gair said that “the three applicants had all been valued members of the Board and I am delighted to see them return for another term”.

A modernisation to the constitution of the Authority is underway with regard to the appointment of board members. Later this year, a Harbour Revision Order will be promoted which changes recruitment from the current sectoral nominations to an open advertisement process. There are nine non-executive board member positions. Three year terms of appointment will continue with three members standing down annually.

  • Share on:

Related Posts